Volunteer Groups


GA at Work

The Geographical Association has a number of Committees and Special Interest Groups that provide advice and guidance to the whole organisation.

Governing Body

The Governing Body has overall responsibility for the Association and its current and future well-being. Its role includes the prudent stewardship of financial resources on behalf of the Association, in accordance with current law and its charitable aims.

GA President

The Governing Body is chaired by the GA President.

GAConfGuildford-2017 100 NickLapthorn (2)

GA President 2017-18

On 1 September 2017 Nick Lapthorn began his year as GA President. Nick has worked for Field Studies Council (FSC) since 1996, initially as a tutor and then as a Head of Centre. He has worked at a range of locations, but is now based at FSC Nettlecombe Court in Somerset. During his time with FSC he has been directly involved in enabling fieldwork opportunities for well over 100,000 young people and has seen the benefits that direct experience of geography as a living subject can bring. To reflect this, Nick has chosen ‘Real world geography’ as the theme for his Presidential year.

The Governing Body for 2017/18 is:

  • President: Mr N Lapthorn
  • Past President: Dr M Biddulph
  • Senior Vice President/Chair of Education Group: Dr S Scoffham
  • Junior Vice President: Mrs G Miller
  • Named Trustee, Honorary Treasurer: Mr B Digby
  • Named Trustee: Mr R Plews
  • Named Trustee: Dr P Richardson
  • Elected Member: Dr R Gillman
  • Elected Member: Dr A Marvell
  • Elected Member: Mr I Palôt
  • Co-option: Mrs S Holden
  • Co-option: Dr T Jazeel
  • Co-option: Miss K Stephenson
  • Co-option: Mrs L West

Education Group

The Education Group has responsibility for formulating the GA's educational policy, guiding the Governing Body on priorities for the educational work of the Association and ensuring that provision is made for all aspects of geographical education.

The Governing Body and Education Group are each able to create Phase Committees, Special Interest Groups and other groupings for specific purposes. 

Other groups that oversee GA activities locally, regionally and nationally include WorldWise and Branches.

Special Interest Groups and Phase Committees

Assessment and Examinations Special Interest Group

Early Years and Primary Phase Committee

Fieldwork and Outdoor Learning Special Interest Group

ICT Special Interest Group

Independent Schools Special Interest Group

International Special Interest Group

Physical Geography Special Interest Group

Post-16 and HE Phase Committee

Secondary Phase Committee

Sustainability and Citizenship Special Interest Group

Teacher Education Special Interest Group

Welsh Special Interest Group

Honorary Vice Presidents

The GA's Honorary Vice Presidents are Professor Iain Stewart, Dr Vanessa Lawrence CB, Hetan Shah, Professor David LambertAndy Buck and Professor Peter Jackson.