International Special Interest Group



Chair: Catherine Owen

Our aims

The International Special Interest Group's aims are:

  • To advise and represent the GA on international matters
  • To establish and co-ordinate links with international geographical and educational organisations and between schools and individuals
  • To further the study and teaching of geography by developing the international dimension of the GA's work, through publications and curriculum-related activities
  • To support teachers in providing lessons with a critical and informed view of geography to ensure that learning is multi-dimensional and avoid the danger of the single story
  • To help pupils to understand the world in which they live and the interdependence of individuals, groups and nations by supporting links between teachers and pupils in Britain and overseas.

What we do

We have a number of projects in hand. These include:

  • Study Tours for teachers - trips abroad for building up contacts and curriculum resource materials. View the Study Tour pages for special reports, resources and further information on forthcoming trips.
  • Maintaining an overseas corresponding members' database for the GA
  • Working with teachers in Uganda to set up a Greater Kampala GA branch, the first overseas GA branch
  • Contributing to the Annual GA Conference through workshops and lectures
  • Publishing and circulating an annual Newsletter of activities and contributing to GA publications
  • Managing the international aspect of the GA Initiatives Fund. This Fund provides awards, usually of between £250 and £750, to support geographical educators around the world. The closing date for applications is 31 August every year.

Kampala scheme of work resources - resulted from a link between The King Alfred School (KAS) in Somerset and the Charles Lwanga School in Kampala. Benedict Ssaazi was able to visit KAS in November 2015 because of an award from the GA.


GA ISIG Newsletter 2017

ISIG terms of reference

Study Tours terms of reference and bursary information

Study Tour bursary application form


Catherine Owen – Chair

Rouna Ali – Vice Chair

Susan Knight – Secretary

Kevin Cook

Katya Cosgrove

Isobel George

Lesley Burnett

Sebastian Witts

Mallica Scott